Data Transfer

Terms and Conditions

1. You will be able to use the Data Transfer service if you are on the Prepaid, Hybrid and Post-paid payment type.

2. Transfer of Data bundles will be applicable to all once-off & recurring data bundles.

3. You can transfer a data bundle only if you are a Master Account Holder

4. The following terms are applicable for the Transfer of Data bundles within the following payment types:

             You can only transfer Data to customers on Post-paid and Hybrid payment plans if you are on a Post-paid payment plan

             You can only transfer Data to customers on Postpaid and Hybrid payment plans if you are on a Hybrid payment plan

             You can only transfer Data to customers on Prepaid payment plans if you are also on a Prepaid payment plan

             You can only transfer Data with customers on NXT LVL price plans I you are on  a NXT LVL price plan

o             You can transfer data to NXT LVL customers on the Prepaid payment plan if you are also on the NXT LVL Prepaid payment plan

o             You can transfer data to NXT LVL customers on Hybrid payment plan if you are also on the NXT LVL Hybrid payment plan

             You can transfer data to customers on the Mobile Broadband data price plan if you are also on a Mobile Broadband data price plan

o             You can transfer data to Mobile Broadband customers on the Hybrid and Postpaid payment plan if you are on a Hybrid Mobile Broadband payment plan

o             You can transfer data to Mobile Broadband customers on the Hybrid and Postpaid payment plan if you are on a Postpaid Mobile Broadband payment plan

5. You can transfer all paid data bundles free of charge.

6. You may not transfer all free data bundles

7. You may transfer data bundles to a receiving cellphone number only within a pre-set parameter of bundle sizes. The pre-defined allocation bundle sizes will be as follows:

 

Data

50MB

100MB

250MB

500MB

1GB

8. You can transfer data bundles on a set number of days before expiry:

             Bundles with validities less than 1 day can be transferred immediately

             Bundles with validities greater than 1 day and less than or equal 29 days can only be transferred 3 days or less prior to expiry

             Bundles with validities greater than 29 days can only transferred 5 days or less prior to expiry

9. You will be able to link up to 5 cellphone numbers to transfer data to. You will be able to link/de-link the cellphone numbers after 30 days of linking.

10. You will have no limit to the number of times you can transfer a data bundle to linked customers

             All allocated hourly bundles transferred to a linked number will be valid for an hour

             All allocated daily bundles transferred to a linked number will be valid for a day

             All allocated Weekend bundles transferred to a linked will be valid for one weekend

             All allocated data bundles with a validity greater than 24 hours transferred to a linked number will be valid for 7 days

11. A transferred bundle cannot be further transferred to someone else by the linked number.

12. A transferred bundle cannot be Rolled over by the linked number

13. You can use the following channels to transfer data is:

             USSD (*135#)

14. In the cases where you transfer a URL based bundles, the receiving number is required to have access to the relevant applications to be able to use the URL based data bundle received

15. Vodacom reserves the right to amend these terms and conditions and where such change is material, Vodacom will notify its customers of such amendment(s) before they come into force.

16. Vodacom reserves the right to suspend the service in the event of suspected abuse where non-compliant devices (as specified by the regulating body, ICASA) are being used on the Vodacom network

Out of Bundle Limit Lock

Terms and Conditions

The Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service allows you to take control of your out-of-bundle data spend and set a Rand limit on what you want to spend on out-of-bundle data charges.

1. The Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service is available to Prepaid, Hybrid and Postpaid Vodacom customers.

2. On the 1st of March 2019, all Vodacom all data-engaged customers will automatically be opted into the Data Limit Lock service, with their out-of-bundle spend limit set to R0. They will then be able to either opt out of the service or increase their limit. By opting out of the data limit lock service, you consent to be charged the applicable out-of-bundle rate.

3. For Pre-paid customers who have been default opted in to the Data Limit Lock service with their limit set to R0 implicitly by Vodacom - when their data bundle expires and they don’t have any remaining data bundles, the customer will be defaulted into out of bundle rates. With the exception of the following scenarios:

4. You will receive an SMS notification when you reach your out-of-bundle data limit.

5. Once you reach the limit you have set for out-of-bundle data spend; your data usage will be paused and you will not be able to use data until you perform one of the actions stipulated below.

6. In order to continue using data after your data usage has been paused, you will need to either:

7. Your out-of-bundle data limit will be included in your Call Limit Lock and cannot be more than your Call Limit Lock.

8. You can manage the Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service via the following channels:

9. You can opt into and out of the Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service at any point in time, multiple times per day.

10. Both Master Account Holders and linked numbers will be able to set the out-of-bundle data limit for each line.

11. You will still be able to use websites and apps that are free on the Vodacom network when your out-of-bundle data usage has been paused due to you having reached your out-of-bundle data limit.

12. Once opted into the Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service, you will remain opted in until you opt out. The service will not automatically opt out at the end of the month.

13. Once you have opted out of the Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service, it will be deactivated until you opt back in. You will not be automatically opted in at the end of the month.

14. The Out-of-Bundle data limit that you have set last will remain until you change it. It will not reset at the end of the month.

15. The Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service does not have its own associated out-of-bundle data rate. You will be charged at the out-of-bundle data rate applicable to your price plan when using out-of-bundle data.

16. The Out-of-Bundle Data Limit Lock service does not apply to data usage while roaming.

17. Vodacom reserves the right to amend these terms and conditions and where such change is material, Vodacom will notify its customers of such amendment(s) before they come into force.